Odds and Ends

Ryan Continues to Become More Flexible

I am by just how much Ryan’s flexibility is improving. Some days I notice this more than others. Yesterday was just such a day. I dedicated the day to ranging his fingers and toes. His right fingers and toes have almost full range. His left side continues to make gains.

This is great for him, but is really doing a number on my carpal tunnel syndrome. At times, I have no useable grip in my left hand. It always aches, especially when I bend at the wrist. I really need to get this looked at soon. Perhaps the next time Dr. Rodriguez comes over.

Sue Off to NYC

Sue left around 4:15 AM to catch the Amtrak to NYC. To our neighbors, sorry about her setting off the car alarm in those wee hours. I had the dogs out — going to the bathroom — when she did this and they both stopped mid-stream, equally startled and interested. I had to laugh, seeing the dogs in complete “hey, what’s going on here” mode and Sue sheepishly saying “Oops, wrong button”.

She plans on visiting IBRF Tuesday night to personally meet the doctors and staff (I have already met them). She also will get to check out their new office space at the Meadowlands.

Sue’s Dad: Update

It was two weeks ago today that Sue’s father, Albert Burick, suffered congestive heart failure. Fortunately, he was already in the hospital for acute pancreatitis when his lungs began filling with blood, so this turned out as life-saving.

Although still admitted, he was permitted to leave for four hours yesterday to enjoy dinner with his wife, Helen, and his son’s family. He returned to the hospital no worse for the wear.

Kari Returns Safely to WVU

It was just so wonderful having Kari home with us for an extended weekend. She brings such excitement (which is not always a good thing) and laughter to our home. She also brings a lot of laundry!

She is safely back in her dorm now at WVU. The next ten days will be stressful, as she prepares and enters “final’s week”. But, the good news is… it’s just ten days. She takes her last exam next Wednesday and will be home for the summer on Thursday.

Next year she will be out of the dorm and into a house with six other girls. Kari will be in the attic bedroom. I can tell you, I’m not looking forward to moving her belongings up several flights of stairs, one of which is narrow and twisty. Still, the price is very affordable, the house is in excellent condition, and she will be close to campus (walking through downtown to get to class).

Kari's Crib Next School Year


Blog Update: Tomorrow

As a reminder, tomorrow WordPress will be performing upgrades to this blog. Again, it should be transparent to you, but I wanted to let everyone know in case I have trouble posting.

About Ryan's Rally LLC

kdiviney@ryansrally.org
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Odds and Ends

  1. Dianne says:

    Good Morning, Ken & Ryan! I’m so please to hear about Ryan’s improved fexibility in his hands. Your diligence in working with him is clearly paying off. The extra ‘reward’ of carpal tunnel syndrome is not welcome, however. I hope you can talk to Dr. Rodriguez about helping you with this. I have carpal tunnel syndrome and while I should look into the surgery to fix it permanently, I did have a temporary fix several years ago which helped. Maybe you can talk to him about a cortisone shot. It did help me and there’s no recouperative period like the surgery. I’m sure you don’t want the ‘down time’ now. If you do need the surgery, maybe that’s something you could think about this summer while Kari is home.

    I hope you and Ryan have a good day today. It’s beautiful out there today. Maybe you can pop your head out the door for a bit to breathe in some of that warm spring air we have today. We need to enjoy it while we can — the rain is coming back.

    Continued prayers for Ryan, for Sue’s father, and for Sue’s safe travels and her visit to IBRF this week. Lots of love & hugs!

  2. Paula says:

    Hello Ken! Very cool looking house for Kari!! You will need to recruit some of those nice college friends of Kari’s to help bring all that stuff upstairs. Before you know it Kari will be brightening up the Diviney house with laughter and love everyday : ) About the carpal tunnel, are you wearing a “smart glove” or anything to support your wrists? Dr. Rodriguez would know the right type. With all the physical work you do, the wrist supports are essential. So happy to hear about Ryan’s continued progress!! So, I’m grateful to God for the sunshine today, Thought about you and Ryan when I was sitting in my backyard Saturday. The healing rays of the sun and the freedom of being outdoors will be a blessing for you both. Praying for this to happen for you guys soon. Sending love and prayers, as always…Paula

  3. J.R. says:

    Hopefully, that flexibility will pay off when Ryan wakes up and wants to relearn how to play sports!

Leave a comment